# Former Major General John H. Russell Leadership Awardees

2022 - Mr. Nick Lane

President Equitable

2020/21 - Not held due to COVID

2019 - Mrs. Jordan Saunders

Philanthropist

2018 - Mr. Joseph M. Murphy

Chairman of the Executive Committee and a Founding Director of Country Bank

2017 - Mr. Kenneth G. Langone

Chairman & CEO, Invemed Associates LLC Co-Founder, The Home Depot

2016 - Mr. Bill O'Reilly

Author, Political Commentator, and Columnist

2015 - Mr. Edward W. Stack

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Dick's Sporting Goods

2014 - Mr. James J. Dunne III

Senior Managing Principal, Sandler O'Neill + Partners, L.P.

2103-His Eminence, Timothy Michael Cardinal Dolan

Archbishop of New York

2012-Mr. Richard L. "Sandy" Alderson

General Manager, New York Mets Marine Veteran, Vietnam Attorney, Baseball Executive

2011-Mr. Francis "Bing" West

Marine Combat Veteran, Vietnam Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs

Bestselling author

2010-Mr. Samuel F. Pryor III

President of Palisades Interstate Park Commission (Governor's 2000 NY State Parks Award) Chairman of the World Rehabilitation Fund

2009-The Honorable John C. Whitehead

Retired Co-Chairman and Co-Senior Partner of Goldman Sachs, Former Deputy Secretary of State, and Chairman of the Lower Manhattan Development Corporation 2008-Mr. Thomas A. Saunders, III

President

Ivor & Co., LLC

2007-Mr. Park B. Smith

Chief Executive Officer

Park B. Smith, Inc.

2006-James T. Goodrich, M.D.

Director and Professor of Clinical Neurological Surgery, Pediatrics, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Albert Einstein College of Medicine

2005-The Honorable Anthony D. Marshall Founding

Chairman

Marine Corps University Foundation

2004-Thomas W. Gleason, Esq.

Senior Partner

Gleason & Mathews, P.C.

2003-Mr. Walter Anderson

Chairman and CEO Parade

2002-Commissioner Raymond W. Kelly

Police Commissioner City of New York

2001-The Honorable David Dinkins

Former Mayor of New York City

2000-Mr. John J. Phelan, Jr.

Former Chairman and CEO

The New York Stock Exchange

1999-The Right Reverend Paul Moore, Jr.

Retired Episcopal Bishop of New York

1998-Mr. Terry Anderson

Former Middle East Correspondent for the Associated

Press and

Professor, Scripps School of Journalism,

Ohio University

1997-Mr. James Kallstrom

Assistant Director in Charge

New York Division

Federal Bureau of Investigation

1996-Mr. Erik P. Woit

Chairman

Sea Containers America, Incorporated

### 1995-Mr. James H. Dowling

Chairman Emeritus Burson-Marsteller

#### 1994-Mr. Steven S. Reinemund

President and CEO Frito-Lay, Incorporated

# 1993-The Honorable Walter J. P. Curley

Former United States Ambassador to Ireland and France

#### 1992-The Honorable William H. Donaldson

Chairman and CEO
The New York Stock Exchange

# 1991-Mr. John L. Weinberg

Senior Chairman Goldman, Sachs & Company

#### 1990-Mr. George V. Grune

Chairman of the Board and CEO The Reader's Digest Association, Incorporated

# 1989-Mr. John (Jock) Elliott, Jr.

Chairman *Emeritus* Ogilvy & Mather

# 1988-Mr. Arthur O. Sulzberger

Publisher
The New York Times

#### 1987-The Honorable James H. Webb, Jr.

Secretary of the Navy